Events

Event:  Deaf-Blind Literacy Initiative for 2019-2020
Dates:
September 18-19, 2019

June 10-11, 2020
Location:  Casper, WY
Information:  The two-day workshops for the Deaf-Blind Literacy Initiative will be held at the Ramkota Hotel in Casper.  The topic for the September workshop is Communication and Emergent Literacy.  The topics for the June workshop is Conventional Literacy.
Contact: Leslie Van Orman at (307)857-9267

Event:  TVI/COMS PLC for 2019-2020
Dates:
September 26, 2019
November 12, 2019
February 5, 2020
May 12, 2020
Time:  3:30 – 4:30pm

Location: Zoom
Information:  The purpose of the TVI/COMS PLC is to provide a professional learning community to share and exchange resources, brainstorm and to collaborate with other TVIs and COMS.  
Contact:  Jennifer D’Alessandro at (307)754-2147

Event:  Next Step Clinic
Date:  October 25, 2019
Location:  Riverton, WY
Information:  The next assessment clinical is schedule for October 25, 2019 in Riverton.  For more information or if you have a child you would like assessed, please contact Leslie Van Orman at (307)857-9267.
Contact:  Leslie Van Orman at (307)857-9267

Event: Wyoming Rendezvous
Date:  Annually in February
Location:  Casper Mountain, WY
Information: Annual event held each February on Casper Mountain at the Nordic ski trails. It is a day of opportunity for students pre-k through 12 to ski, sled, and snowshoe while learning about featured assistive technology devices, WyAble Accounts, and spend a day with other kids facing some of their same challenges.  
Contact: Brenda Ariosto at Brenda.ariosto@wyo.gov  or Jennifer.dalessandro@wyo.gov or call (307)754-2147

National and Online Learning Opportunities Related to Vision Impairment

Event:  National Deaf-Blind Educator Network (NDBEN) – A Community of Practice for Educators who Work with Students who are Deaf-Blind
Date:  September 23, 2019
Time:  4pm Pacific / 5pm Mountain / 6pm Central / 7pm Eastern
Location:  Online – NCDB Adobe Room
Information: NDBEN’s goal is to create an online community where professionals exchange ideas and best practices, problem solve, and support one another. We are tackling topics such as literacy, communication, interveners, and effective educational practices, all within a community of practice framework. Our first activity is an informational webinar.  Come and learn about the community of practice, find out how you can get involved, and meet other educators working with children who are deaf-blind.
Contact: Kristi Probst at kristi.probst@hnkc.org